Zino_'s post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

Celebrating the Mid-Autumn Festival with Local Guides

It all started with a post by @StephenAbraham and then I got curious and also interested. As a food lover and a part-time food blogger, I had never tried a moon cake before nor heard of the festival and celebrating it with Local Gudies became the perfect opportunity. The timing was also great because it was during my lunch break. (I'm actually a fulltime lawyer)

The Mid Autumn festival is a special festival that is actually the second most popular festival after the Chinese New Year. At festival, lanterns are made and delicious moon cakes are eaten. I had planned to make a lantern but I couldn't find scissors anywhere. The moon cakes come in range of flavours and textures. Learning about the legend of Chaange reminded me of an episode of Avatar:The Last Air Bender which was about the Moon Spirit "Yui".

Caption: A collage of photos showing the Gold Gift Box and Red Bean Mooncake captured by Local Guide @Zino_Caption: A collage of photos showing the Gold Gift Box and Red Bean Mooncake captured by Local Guide @Zino_

Before the meetup, I visited the oldest Chinese Restaurant in Abuja, Nigeria called Sinoni and I picked up a special mooncake. It was in a Golden gift box with words "Chinese Moon Cake Festival" inscribed on it. The cake itself was a sweet flaky pastry filled with a very sweet red bean paste. Eventhough I'm a sweet tooth, I had to chase it down with some herbal green tea. It's been raining a lot in Abuja so I've been drinking more tea and less coffee. The mooncake cost 1000 naira which is about $2.60.

Caption: A collage of photos showing a cross section of my first ever red bean mooncake captured by Local Guide @Zino_Caption: A collage of photos showing a cross section of my first ever red bean mooncake captured by Local Guide @Zino_