SirB's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 10

Contributions & points diminished

Something curious I noticed lately on my maps profile. I used to have roughly 30,000 contributions with about 130,000 points. I just had a closer look (something I've never done before) that my contributions are now 27,607 & 127,825 points. What gives? 

SirB
Three Grand Essentials to Happiness: Something to DO, Something to LOVE and Something to HOPE for ❤
6 comments
Level 10

Re: Contributions & points diminished

@SirB  Some of the time when contributions numbers go down, may be due to Photos and Reviews that don't adhere to Google Maps Contributed Content Policy are subject to removal by the automated system filters or flagged by others. Such items that could be up for removal and or may be marked as private include duplicitous photo uploads or low quality reviews. When this happens, the contribution is no longer counted in the total contributions. You can check the situation by looking at your Maps contribution profile when logged vs in incognito mode.

There could be other scenarios when contribution number goes down, for example if a place gets deleted, contributions towards the place is no longer counted as well.

Or another more likely cause, there is also the situation about if one deletes personal Google Maps activity history records, which will remove points from Answers given on Google Maps. Read here

The above are just possibilities, and may not necessarily apply to your situation. 

Level 10

Thanks @StephenAbraham 

It's possible that some places had been flagged as non existence that I reviewed. I noticed places I reviewed in Nancy, France, had been marked unknown place on my photos uploaded for that place. Just worried that being on level 10 would eventually place me lower which would be disappointing. But alas...

Cheers 👍

SirB
Three Grand Essentials to Happiness: Something to DO, Something to LOVE and Something to HOPE for ❤