crissibeth's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

3 takeaways from Connect Live 2018

Hi everyone! My name is Beth and I’m an NYC-based photographer. I was invited to attend Connect Live to share my photo expertise on a panel and on a photo walk through San Francisco. As a Local Guide myself, I was amazed by so many things, but these were my top three takeaways.

Caption: A photo of me in my natural habitat, taking photos over a puddle in New York City.Caption: A photo of me in my natural habitat, taking photos over a puddle in New York City.

1.  Local Guides are a supportive community of people from all over the world

Caption: A photo of gifts I received throughout Connect Live 2018 including a small stuffed koala, candies, an Eiffel Tower key chain, a postcard, and more.Caption: A photo of gifts I received throughout Connect Live 2018 including a small stuffed koala, candies, an Eiffel Tower key chain, a postcard, and more. At Connect Live, 89 percent of the attendees were from outside of the U.S., representing 59 different countries. People flew tens of thousands of miles to get to San Francisco to represent their home nations. I received many gifts from these Local Guide ambassadors: a hand-crafted keychain from Cameroon, an Australian candy goodie bag, a beautiful postcard from Spain, and a wooden magnet from Kazakhstan, to name a few.

Yet, despite the wildly different backgrounds, everyone immediately came together as a community. Meal times were the exact opposite of a high school lunchroom. There were no cliques; every table I approached welcomed me warmly with smiles. Conversation flowed easily as we each shared our respective experiences and views.  Though our challenges and motivations may have differed, we ended up realizing that we were all working together and contributing toward a common goal of helping others on Google Maps. It was an amazing feeling.

2.  Googlers care about Local Guides’ feedback