MikeFay's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 3

Gmaps let me make an entry for a new restaurant 24 hours ago, why doesn't it show up at all?

I'm pretty new, it's my first time making something new. This restaurant opened 5 days ago and they told me they have not had time to make much presence.

How does adding to gmaps work? Is someone vetting it first? How come I'm not getting any feedback or a link into the review process? From my point of view, my addition was simply lost by Gmaps. 

I took a lot more pictures and would like to add a ton more info than that little "new" form allowed. How can I if there's no record?

It's in Atlanta GA USA.

Thanks if you can help!

8 comments

Accepted Solutions
Level 9
Level 9
Solution

Re: Gmaps let me make an entry for a new restaurant 24 hours ago, why doesn't it show up at all?

@MikeF wrote:

frustrated with how it would not let me put a suite in

Just a FYI, the format for suite numbers in Google Maps is that they must be at the beginning of the address.

By the way, fully concur that it can be discouraging to get rejected without explanation, but sadly that's the nature of the beast. The more you do the more you learn and rejections will decrease, but I've been mapping since 2010 and I get edits which are 100% correct rejected. Most of the approval process is automated and the system isn't smart enough to provide an explanation. Even when humans are involved they work in disparate teams applying contradictory rules especially when a business is verified and claimed by its owner. Possibly this will improve when MapMaker gets folded into Maps

View solution in original post

Level 9
Level 9

Re: Gmaps let me make an entry for a new restaurant 24 hours ago, why doesn't it show up at all?

Does your edit appear in your Contributions tab, saying Approved or Pending or Not applied? What's the name and location of this place?

Level 3

Thanks for answering. I see under Edits it says: