Kol-Colleen_2018's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

An interesting review of a local and recently opened bakery and football practice

I've been reviewing places now since July 2018 (but with Blogger since 2006) and 3 places so far have stood out as being unusual; starting with the most recent, here goes:

The most recent surprise:

Yesterday.  I was looking forward to the opening of a new bakery as my eyes were drawn to its 'mountain' of nicely displayed pastries and cakes, as well as the nicely furnished seating area, so it was on my list of Want to go  places, like 'yesterday'!

It was my moment of cake and coffee TIME delight!  As I approached the bakery/cafe, I took a photo of the Exterior, like a Pro - was nice !  Then went in and was hoping to get just a cake and a coffee.  Nope!  I was given a menu.  To sit in the bakery/cafe, only orders from the kitchen could be taken.  So there I was, carefully going through the menu looking for a very light breakfast as eating out can be VERY VERY expensive if 'you're' not careful.  A lunch which can be a coffee/latte, schawarma and deliciously light carrot cake would set me back £10.50 approx (reel over Ludwig van Beethoven!) - which is the norm these days but bakeries usually charge much less.  Thank heavens!

Nope! (again), the kitchen was closed at 3 pm so I couldn't order from the kitchen.  Just the desserts counter.  

'Er. excuse me! You have to pay before you can eat' in the cafe area.

So I finally got me - pastry heaven!  A blueberry and custard doughnut type pastry - couldn't ask what it was because at that stage I was hungry!!   A truly soft and nice doughnut type pastry which wasn't sweet and with the custard giving it that 'yeah!' taste.  Goes really well with the latte.  To perfection!