On your Maps profile, select the Profile settings icon (screenshot #1) and make sure that Restricted profile on the Profile privacy popup window is not set (screenshot #2).
Good points, @Laurent and @AdamGT, but @CoconutsInTheBay’s statement “I do not have any restrictions on my account and I also have made sure that in the setting, my profile is not set to restricted.” made me believe, both steps were already done.
We have seen this before when the local guides have only made very few contribution. The spam filter seems to be more restrictive towards profiles with very few contributions. So I recommend that you keep making quality contributions for a couple of weeks to test if the issue is automatically fixed.
If not, then kindly share a few screenshots of your lists of reviews and photos. Then we might be able to spot what guidelines you are violating.
Hi @CoconutsInTheBay
This is indeed a weird situation.
Since according to your screenshot of the settings your account isn’t restricted, but checking it on mobile the restriction is very well visible. I will escalate your issue to a Googler, @DeniGu , to report the problem to the relevant team in Google Maps.
Good to know that the account is also not restricted by Google, but in that case you will not have any notification on the profile.
In addition we cannot follow you, so we don’t have any workaround to bypass the issue
@CoconutsInTheBay unfortunately we never get any notification when a contribution was rejected by the SPAM filter nor any explanations why this happened. To check, whether that happened, share the link and past it into an anonymous browser session while not logged into Google.
As Morten suggested, you can share a screenshot with us and possibly somebody can give a hint.
The other thing is, if photos or videos are attached to a review and only one of them is rejected, the entire review and all other attached media is hidden. So, if you realize, a photo is hidden, as a first step, remove it from the review and see, if text-only is published.
As Mr @ErmesT stated it googlers could check that for you ( I think we need some patience so that googler @DeniGu gets in touch)
I just hope it’ll get fixed in a few…so that you keep contributing like you did, like everyone do …
Thanks!
@CoconutsInTheBay I had a quick look at “Woodstock Equestrian Park”. I suggest to remove all photos with recognizable faces. Specially those showing children.
But also the first photo may or may not disturb the filter because of the text. But that doesn’t happen consistently, sometimes it is accepted, other times it is not.
Also under “The First Tee of Howard County”, I can recognize at least one face.
My recommendation: Make sure, you have the originals of all photos and videos on your computer or smartphone. If not, download them. Then edit the reviews and remove all media and watch, if text-only reviews are published.
I think, to avoid any misunderstanding, we should clarify a few things, @CoconutsInTheBay
For privacy reasons, every Google Maps user can “restrict” the access to the public account. This kind of restrictions is shown only on the app, while on desktop the message is that “the user hasn’t uploaded any photo /review yet”. It doesn’t really mean that no contributions were uploaded, but simply that the contributions are not shown on the profile. However your reviews should be visible in the listings where we uploaded them.
Google can of course restrict your possibilities to contribute with photos and/or reviews. The action is taken in some extreme situations, e.g. when a user is constantly posting spam or inappropriate content in Google Maps. In that case Maps will not only remove that user from the Local Guides program, but will also block his ability to post. This is clearly not your case, as you were able to post in Maps and here in Connect.
It means that the only way for us to see if your reviews are publicly visible (as your profile is restricted) is to check if the reviews are visible on the listings. Can you kindly share a link to your reviews, for us to check if we can see them? In this way we will be able to better address you about the quality of your content. But this is in any case totally unrelated to the fact that your profile appears (wrongly) as “restricted”