Being a member of the Local Guides program means you may be able to participate on Connect. If you wish to leave the Local Guides program, consider taking the steps below first to close your Connect profile.
While we would love to have you continue interacting with fellow Local Guides and Googlers on Connect, we also understand you may want to adjust your settings or close your profile entirely, even if you want to remain a Local Guide.
Are you receiving too many emails from Connect?
If you are receiving too many notifications, you can adjust your settings by going to Notifications in your Preferences page. Click on your profile picture in the top right corner to find your Preferences in the drop-down menu.
Still want to delete your Connect profile?
If you wish to delete your profile entirely, you can follow the steps below. The content you have shared will remain on Connect, but it will appear under the username “Deleted user.” If you want to further remove your posts, please contact a Google Moderator.
Deleting your Connect profile can be done in three steps:
- Click on your profile picture in the top right corner.
- Click Preferences, then Account.
- At the bottom, click Delete My Account.
If you wish to download the contributions you have made to Connect, go to Preferences and then Account. At the bottom, next to “Export your data,” click Request archive. You will receive a notification on Connect when the request has been completed. The download link is valid for 48 hours, and the data is compressed as a zip archive.
After you close your profile, you can’t re-open it. If you later decide to rejoin the community, you must re-register.
Closing your profile will immediately log you out.

