Csaba's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 10

2018 - The European Year of Cultural Heritage

2018 is the European Year of Cultural Heritage. On this occasion, last Wednesday, the Hungarian Commission of the ICOMOS issued the yearly awards for the finest monument restorations in the country and (to my pride) the Palace of Püspökszentlászló (together with its Saint Ladislaus Church) received one of the three awards. I worked as a heritage protection officer on the renovations (although only joined after they were started). Any of the pictures shared there by me were taken during these visits- so indeed I am a bit proud of it. Here is a picture of the palace I took two years ago when its exterior was already ready: 

Puspokszentlaszlo.jpg

But this is not really what I was going to share but how I myself "celebrate" this European Year of Cultural Heritage. In 2005-2006, there was a great excavation (with a budget of € six million - although not all went for researches) on our World Heritage site in town. I worked there as an archaeologist myself and have been working on publishing stuff about what we found then and have found ever since. Here is an exhibition for instance where a huge (8.7 metres per 2.5 metres) poster is shown about the reconstruction of the site. I made the reconstruction, rendered the whole image (in pieces) and assembled the panorama image. Or I have been developing a website (sorry folks, only in Hungarian for the time being). 

Anyway, on Monday, when the museums are closed here, I went to our World Heritage site, climbed into two burial chambers and took a bunch of photos including 360 panoramas as well. Here they are: first the Burial Chamber with the Wine Pitcher - normally a visitor can see it from above (as unfortunately its vault collapsed): 

And the other one is the Burial Chamber with SS Peter and Paul (as this one has its vault, visitors can see it from below):