trisnasinicikudo's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

The 5 Photography Tips For Beginners

Photography is one of the hardest things I’ve ever studied — even harder than programming or learning how to write well, if you can believe it. Not that pointing a camera and pressing a button is difficult, of course. What’s difficult is getting a shot to match your vision.

But don’t let that dissuade you from learning photography. It’s extremely rewarding. I firmly believe that everyone should learn a bit of it because photography has ways of improving your life, most notably by making you happier. If you’re an absolute beginner, here are a handful of tips that I consider must-learn-first material.

1. The Exposure Triangle

Photography is all about manipulating and capturing light. Most beginners think that the magic of photography happens in the body of a camera, but the true source of magic is light. A well-lit subject can still be captured poorly, but a poorly-lit subject will never look good. Light is everything.

And in order to snap a good shot, you must know the exposure triangle. When taking a photo, the camera opens its shutter and starts to let in light through the lens. This light hits the camera sensor, which is then processed as an image. Three factors affect the resulting image:

Aperture — The size of the lens opening, often stated in the form of f/2, f/5, f/11, etc. The smaller the number, the wider the aperture opening. The wider the aperture, the more light is let in. Aperture size also affects depth of field (which affects, for example, background blur).

Shutter Speed — How long the shutter is left open, often stated in the form of 1/200 sec, 1/60 sec, 5 sec, etc. The slower the shutter speed, the more light is let in. Shutter speed also affects sensitivity to motion (faster speeds will freeze motion, slower speeds will motion blur).