jordi7's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

What does being a Local Guide mean for me?

Hello everyone!

My name is Jordi and I'm a level 7 Local Guide from Barcelona. I'm 21 years old and I'm a computer programmer and a system administrator . I have experience working in many fields, as an Android developer, as a web developer and I also like to experiment in my free time with other projects or learning other programming languages. I love all kinds of technology and I'm always trying to push its limits, and that's one of the reasons that approached me to the Local Guides program.

I am also a Google Maps contributor and beta-tester, as well as with almost every app or product I use because I want to improve them and make people's lives easier and more comfortable. So the Local Guides program is another awesome way to help, but also a different one for me: I can forget about the technical stuff that I'm used to and focus on helping the users directly and interact with other people that share the same interests as me.

Every time I travel or I'm driving I use Google Maps and I always read information and I always trust the reviews of the places I don't know, so I wanted to do the same thing and I started submitting little reviews and answering questions of small businesses in my town. I quickly realized of the potential of the platform and I increased the quality of my reviews, I started submitting pictures and I added and edited a lot of places that I didn't want other people to miss. I haven't stopped yet and I recently surpassed twelve thousand points. I'm getting close to level 8!

Screenshot_20180429-190951.png