NurseitN's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

Contributing to Google Maps to foster social trust and cohesive community

Hello fellow Local Guides! Greeting from sunny Kazakhstan!

Everybody knows the benefits of sharing and giving. Does not matter if you do so by being a Local Guide or devoting your time in a local charity or community center. Volunteering and giving back to the community is exactly what makes it safer, happier, cohesive and self-sufficient.

I am a professor of Politics and part of my research interests deal with the so-called 'social capital' - the networks of relationships among people who live and work in a particular society, enabling that society to function effectively. Volunteering and caring about the community are two of the core values of a healthy social capital. 

I became a Local Guide because I realized how much this program is fostering social trust, volunteering and associational life - all parts of the society's social capital. 

Let me tell you the question which I am asked the most whenever I write and share my Local Guide reviews: "Why are you doing this? Isn't it the waste of your time and effort?" I am used to answering these kinds of questions. People who ask them have poor stocks of social capital; they do not trust strangers, never volunteer, do not join any social movements or public associations. I do not blame them. In fact, I used to be like them.