Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 6

Re: There’s still time to apply for Connect Live 2018

I'm submitting my application now! Thanks for the helpful tips 😉

Level 7

@TraciC The more applicants you get the lesser my chance 🙂 Hahaha! Just kidding, the more the merrier.

Anyone who was going to submit and is scared or unknown what to do or feel you don't have a chance. DO IT ANYWAY! You have nothing to lose and a TON to gain.

Plus someone (actually 150 someones) have to win 😉 

Good luck all! 

Underdog

Level 6

Thank you for the invitation to the Connect Live 2018 event in San Francisco in October. My name is Amir. I live in Jerusalem, where I am a language teacher at a high school and a theological seminary. I have been active as a Local Guides contributor, especially through Google Maps, for the past year. I do quite a bit of traveling and find the photos and reviews of other users exceedingly helpful, and I endeavor to repay the service whenever I can. I have actually not been active on Connect, because the first day I logged in my email account was flooded with about seventy messages and it scared me away -- but I intend to dip my toes in again this summer as I'll be traveling in Armenia, Belgium and Ireland. Since my main hobby is running, both on road and on trail, I frequently find myself in places well off the beaten path and where there is often little or no information or the information is outdated or inaccurate. I consider it an opportunity to fill the gaps so that the information will be there for those seeking it after me. Also, because I live in Jerusalem I am interested in how political conflicts spill over to Google reviews, as is the case in territories like Nagorno-Karabakh where Armenians and Azerbaijanis use reviews as a platform for engaging in territorial disputes.

I look forward to interacting with my Connect colleagues, to learn from their experience, and to share mine.

Amir

Level 8