KarinaDj's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 7

What does it takes to be a Local Guide in Bangka Island

What does it take to be a Local Guide in Bangka Island. It never cross my mind that my story will be as adventurous as this one:

I started posting photo, review and edit as Local Guide in June 2017 when I was on holiday in my hometown, Bangka Island, Indonesia. As a beginner, I knew almost nothing about Local Guides. But since my life depend on Google on daily basis, especially Google maps, I knew if I help Google, then I help others like me too. So with determination I started to go around my neighborhood, took photos, add locations, edit, and submit reviews.

Being away from my home town for more than half of my age seemed making me forgot one tiny thing about my hometown, that is only 1/3 of the community is an active user of Google services, especially maps. So when I was out, taking photos, or stopping in front of a bulidng and entering information on my mobile phone, most of the times:

1. I was considered as a property agent who is taking photo to sell the building/land nearby, or

2. I was considered as a news reporter who is making stories about the location, or

3. I was an undercover hired agent working for someone with money and/or power

Unfortunately, all of the three options are bad news and none of the residents want to deal with them. So their first reaction when they saw me taking photos was to chase me away as soon as possible.  Even with public buildings, when I stopped in front of the building and started submitting entries on my mobile phone, security guards would immediately approach me with one purpose in mind: to chase me away asap.