Jon1989's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 10

The First 360° Neckband Wearable Camera

Check this out https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/467094941/fitt360-the-first-360-neckband-wearable-camera?ref=di...

I saw this on kickstarter, and couldn't help but think of the possibilities this could have for Local Guides.  I'd love to walk all over the place capturing 360 pictures without the odd looks I sometimes get when setting up and 360 camera, or walking in a circle to get a 360 picture..

What are your thoughts on it?

5 comments
Former Google Contributor

Re: The First 360° Neckband Wearable Camera

😮 Great for videos - no doubt! I am no pro at this so I'm curious - are 360 videos more ideal than a 360 image? Given that the maximum duration of a video uploaded to Maps is 30 seconds. 

Moving this to Photography because I imagine the folks on the board would looove to read about this. 

New to Connect? Check out Help Desk! Always keep in mind the Local Guides program rules when posting.

Level 8

Cool concept and probably great for some action cam video.

But the grand canyon sample shows the problems with the system for getting 360panos.   the top and bottom sphere are severely compromised. 
Best case scenario is a tall necked guy with shaved head,   if you got much hair its going to be all over the back camera, and wearing anything but a tight t-shirt will obstruct the front camera.. 

The tripod street sample is even not perfect with a black spot up and down.  

Also since the cameras are fairly far from each other, you will get some significant stitching issues. (regardless what the sample videos on KickStarter look like, remember sample pictures and videos on these sites are famously doctored and shot with different equipment 90% of the time)

Like I said, love the concept, but strongly doubt its viability in real life conditions.  

Bo

Level 10