SteinArneJ's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

Ricoh Theta S auto horizon correction - is it working both ways?

Sorry if "both ways" sounds confusing to you.

I have been using a Theta SC for a couple of months now and find it hard to notice any difference in picture quality between my shots and others made with the Theta S.

However I have a nagging suspicion that I have found one function where Ricoh may have saved a few cents.

The auto horizon correction (gyroscope?) is only working sideways. It does not matter if I tilt the camera to the left or right as long as the front and back lenses are on exactly the same level.  If not - I will get an more or less S-shaped horizon.

Is it the same with the Theta S?

6 comments
Connect Moderator

Re: Ricoh Theta S auto horizon correction - is it working both ways?

Hi @SteinArneJ to be honest, I've never noticed. I'll have to do some testing.

Level 8

Sometimes, if you are doing postpoduction, you can loose gyroscope information

Level 8

@Cosmo That's not the problem with the Theta SC.  If the camera is tilted forwards or backwards when I take a photo it will end up with a more or less S-shaped horizon even without editing. Holding the monopod in front of me with both lenses having the same height is OK, like this shot: https://goo.gl/maps/bjoMK8YypJv

Level 8

@PaulPavlinovich wrote:

Hi @SteinArneJ to be honest, I've never noticed. I'll have to do some testing.

@PaulPavlinovich Please do!

Level 8

@SteinArneJI am not sure that you understand my suggestion, but maybe this is your solution - http://www.360camerauser.com/horizon-correction-360-panoramas-ricoh-theta/

Level 8

@Cosmo wrote:

@SteinArneJI am not sure that you understand my suggestion, but maybe this is your solution - http://www.360camerauser.com/horizon-correction-360-panoramas-ricoh-theta/

Thank you @Cosmo.