Christina-NYC's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 2

Photo tips for cherry blossom season

Hi, I’m Christina — I’m new to the Local Guides team! I’m an enthusiastic photographer, and I’m excited to start sharing some of my favorite tips here on Connect.

If you live in Japan, this is an exciting time of year for anyone who loves taking nature photos. As spring arrives and the weather gets warmer, sakura (cherry blossom) trees begin their gorgeous annual bloom. They’re absolutely wonderful to photograph.

Tokyo’s trees are in peak bloom now through April 2, and the flowers will soon appear in the country’s northern areas. But Japan isn’t the only place to see this amazing event: Trees across South Korea are also blooming right now, and Washington, D.C. is expected to turn pastel from April 8 to 12. There are many pockets of cherry blossom trees around the world, and prime viewing windows can be just days long in each location — so be sure to check the forecast near you.

If you’re lucky enough to live somewhere with blooming cherry blossoms, do the rest of us a huge favor: Take photos and add them to hanami (Japanese for “cherry blossom viewing”) spots on Google Maps! Here are some tips.

Tip 1: Take photos at the right time of day

You'll get the best light (and the thinnest crowds at popular spots) just after dawn and just before dusk. Avoid shooting in the afternoon on sunny days, because bright light can wash out the colors of the pink blossoms. But even if it’s raining,  you can get still get a beautiful shot of the scene when someone walks by with an umbrella!

People with umbrellas walking on a path lined with cherry blossom trees in Tokyo.  (Anna Dickson)People with umbrellas walking on a path lined with cherry blossom trees in Tokyo. (Anna Dickson)  

Tip 2:  Use blossoms to frame a subject