PaulPavlinovich's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Connect Moderator

What happens if no-one comes to my Meetup?

We all worry about it.. We organise a Meetup. We make a Map that looks interesting. We organise a theme or an activity for everyone to join in. We share the information here in Connect and on our socials but still, despite doing everything right no-one comes along.

I've been organising Meetups of one kind or another actively since 2011 and more recently over the last few years with Local Guides. Were they all successful? No, absolutely not. Putting it bluntly some didn't go too well. Some of them are huge (400 people), many large (10 - 50 people), most small (less than 10 people) and some of them zero. Why does it happen? People RSVP and say they're coming but they don't. I've even missed one of my own Meetups and had to get another Local Guide to step in for me and take over.

What do you do? Well, move on and get on with thinking about the next one. When it happens to me, if its a photowalk I just go ahead and do the walk anyway - after all I will enjoy it and I can show others what they missed out on later.

The point is that it happens to everyone, even veterans. Don't let it worry you - don't let it get you down, if you did you'd probably never push that submit button on the Meetup creation. Go ahead push the button. Whether people come or not, you've done something for yourself. You've summoned the courage to put yourself out there. Well done.

29 comments
Former Google Contributor

Re: What happens if no-one comes to my Meetup?

Thanks for sharing this @PaulPavlinovich.

It is really encouraging Local Guides to create more Meet-Ups and go out there!

Great stuff!

Best regards,

Georges

Please consider reading this post before sending me a Private Message - Private Messages and Google Moderators
Level 10