HelloJess's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

Re: What are your tips for first-time meet-up hosts?

Hey @HelloJess

Just woke up on my side of the world to this discussion! What a great idea, mind you I can't say I'm an expert or anything...but I'll throw in my two cents.

1. Be engaged with your community.  If no one knows who you are, chances are, people will be really shy and don't want to come out.  Even if you've never met them in person, post in your online community, chat with them.  Find out what some of the common interests are and plan your meet ups are that at first.

2. Plan your event well in advance as well.  People are busy and have other things going on in their lives.  Don't plan something that will happen within the next week and expect lots of people to show up.  I would do at least two or three weeks.

3. Once you plan something, engage and reach out to your community as well.  And promote on social media and anywhere that you can think of.

4. Make sure there's a way for people to contact you if they need to on the day of and a way for you to connect with them quickly.  

5. Arrive early at the location and be prepared.  Make sure you can be easily recognized, either tell people what you'll wear or make it really obvious.

That's it for now, if I think of more, I'll add 🙂

Please post publicly so others can benefit as well. I do not have private messages. Thanks!
Level 9

Thanks for the commendation @HelloJess. The first thing that came to my mind when I read this post is my first meet up “lagoon trailVideo” held in Batticaloa. I didn’t have much expectations when I organized my first meet-up, but that ended up as an unforgettable event. Here are some tips that I feel important when you are about to host your first meet up.

Don’t panic!