Svein's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

What I have learned by posting 10600+ photos, earning 8300+ points and getting 130+ million views

My Local Guides journey stared about 6 months ago after being pestered by Google Maps to start sharing my local knowledge. I’m not a professional photographer, but photography has been my main hobby for 30+ years, so I’m pretty skilled at it and this seemed like a good way of sharing my photos.

I take a LOT of pictures locally and everywhere I travel, so the first thing I did was to browse through my recent photo collection for pictures that were location related and posted around 100 of them to Google Maps. Within hours I was a level 3 guide and was hit with the intoxicating feeling that this was a platform that would let me share my pictures and have them be useful to a large audience.

Within days I had thousands of views, but as with anything I felt the urge to master anything I put any effort into, so I started to do my research on how to gather more points and what pictures got most views. I started browsing Google maps to sample a cross-section of what pictures were available and popular for a set of local businesses and locations. My initial findings was that most pictures were shot with a cell phone in bad lighting (and did not look good), of random interior parts of businesses and the occasional store front picture of mixed quality. The other categories of images (that was typically the selected main shot) was pictures Google had sourced from the web or professionally taken pictures that the business owner themselves had posted. If they were present, the later type of images was typically the one representing the business.