SeaGypsySuz's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

People helping people

Hello everyone!  

My name is Suzanne. I live on a sailboat in Mexico.  I'm a level 7 guide.

I used Google Maps a lot when I was a commercial real estate agent in the Bay Area.  I started populating Google Maps then, with pictures of various buildings, etc.

A couple of years ago, I decided to "retire early" and live a little.  I wanted to travel by sailboat, see the world and experience other cultures, before it was too late.  I did just that.  I  have been in Mexico for about two years now.  When I started traveling, I found myself gravitating to Google Maps for both directions and local recommendations.  What I realized was that Google was not nearly as populated in Mexico as it was in the US.  So, I started populating it myself.

When I realized that my photos were getting a lot of hits, I realized that I could potentially help out both other Google users as well as local business people by adding business, photos and reviews of the various and sometimes obscure places I was visiting.  

The results were astounding.  Many of the local business people who I reviewed or added to the map, started thanking me and telling me how much change I had affected in their business and in their family's life.  In gratitude, Iguana Garden, a restaurant in La Cruz Huanacaxtle, Mexico gave me a little bowl with their name on it.  This touched me more than any present I have received.