AslamMo's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

My Journey with Local Guides!

I am a foodie and a traveler. I enjoy cooking and eating Mexican fajitas to Japanese sushi and everything in between. At GoogleplexAt Googleplex

My love for travel has taken me to many countries in Asia, Europe and Americas.Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge

I traveled more in Spain than in any country and learned Spanish there, then lived in London, United kingdom where I studied for my MBA and enjoyed meeting people from every nook and corner of the world (no wonder I have read 50k+ messages on local guides connect, mostly LG's introductions).  

Google maps has been a reliable friend during my travels and with Local guides, I have the opportunity to give something back, I love doing it by putting small and medium businesses literally on maps. My focus has been on Arts and culture and was honored to receive the below email from Local Guides:  Screenshot_2018-04-14-13-43-56~2.png

By living in the west, I realised how important it is for local businesses to develop their digital footprint, especially when india is going through an digital revolution with usage of smart phones next only to China.   Being a local guide has allowed me to help small businesses like putting the local cobbler in my area on google maps who has been sitting and doing his excellent work for many decades and has only hand painted the signage on his small shed which he calls his workshop, when I told him that it is important now a days to have a presence on maps so that people will know about his quality work, he just nodded. Now when I see him, he tells me the the instances of new customers telling him that they found his shop on google maps, his eyed light up!

Experiences like these motivate me to continue being a local guide and I just love to meet like minded local guides on connect.