DrShaunak's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

My Journey With Local Guides

Hello Local Guides, My name is Shaunak Das and I am from West Bengal, India. I was born and grew up in Serampore, a small town in West Bengal. I started contributing to online maps around 2004 when there was a platform named Wikimapia and I remember I used this platform to map my local areas. When Google maps was launched I started working with it because it was better than other similar platforms.

I joined Local Guides since it's beginning in 2015. Within a few days I felt something special in this program and I loved contributing to maps. It feels great when I write review of a place and upload a photograph. My uploaded photo views have crossed 14.6 million now.

I studied at Nandalal Institution from 1994 to 2002. I am proud of my school. I have many childhood memories there. I miss my school friends and teachers and I am happy to share my school’s 360 photos with everyone via Google maps.

I am a doctor by profession. As a doctor I know how important it is for someone to access a doctor in an emergency situation. So I started contributing emergency medical information of my locality on Google maps such as doctors offices, hospitals, blood bank, clinics and also corrected wrong information about them. Thank you Google for featuring me on Local Guides Hero seriesIt’s awesome to work with your video team members during the shooting of ‘Join the Movement to map India’s Hospitals' campaign at streets of Calcutta.

My passion is travelling to new places and I love to take photos wherever I go. There are many tourist spots in Kolkata like Alipore zoo, Eden Gardens (I love watching Cricket), Victoria Memorial, Millennium Park, Prinsep Ghat, Floating Market, Seven Wonder Park etc, and I love to take photos of those. Apart from these, I added/corrected many local listings such as petrol station, coffee soaps, ATM, restaurants, etc.