JeroenM's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

Local Guides Academy - Your Thoughts?

“There is so much to learn!”

These were the first words a new Local Guide posted on the Local Guides (LG) Connect forum recently, and it is so true.

It was only in February this year that I joined the LG Program myself. I started by simply adding a few reviews, and through a chain of events got sucked into the community on Connect, just before the Mapping Your World Week in March.

Being drawn to the official LG Program, of course, I wanted to do more than just write reviews. However, at the beginning I was terrified to submit edits to Maps. Who am I, as a complete novice, to make such impactful decisions? Of course, this initial “paralysis” was in part due to the fact that I didn’t realize initially that Google has all kinds of safety nets to prevent mistakes (e.g. by beginners) making it to the actual live map. But then I learned that Google monitors your credibility. In other words, the more valid edits you make, the faster and more likely they are going to be accepted. However, for those seeking to increase their credibility, this didn’t help my initial paralysis that much.

I am retired, so have plenty of time to spend time on the Connect forums in order to educate myself. I was looking for guidelines: a rule-book or just any form of guidance, but this turned out to be far more difficult that I had expected. Yes, the Connect forums contain a treasure of knowledge. I love, for example, some of the explanations by Gregg concerning why certain things should be done in a certain way, or when fellow Local Guides write about their encounters with shop-owners, etc. The trouble is, there is no button to get a plate-full of “cherry-posts”; you must harvest the forum for hours to be able to pick enough for a decent meal.