InnocensiaO's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 10

LOCAL GUIDE PROGRAM SENSITIZATION MEET-UP

Hey everyone, 

It's almost three months since we had the Local Guide's Summit 2017 in San Francisco. I can't believe how fast the time is moving. I have been yearning to host a meet-up of some sort for some time now, just to share my experiences during the summit and also to sensitize new would-be local guides about the program, its benefits, and importance especially to a country such as Kenya which is undergoing robust infrastructural developments. 

During the #GoogleAfrica10 celebrations in early December, I got to meet the Googler who first introduced me to Google mapmaker back in 2010, while I was a student at the University of Nairobi. My conversation with him inspired the idea of embarking on a sensitization drive about the program at my alma mater, the University of Nairobi. 

On 19th December 2017,  I got a chance to make a presentation about the local guide program in the School of Engineering at the University of Nairobi. It was an audience comprising of students (undergraduate and graduate) and a lecturer.  I was able to talk about the local guide program, share my experiences from the #lgsummit17 and also gave the students a chance to experience VR for the first time through the limited edition #LGsummit17 Google cardboard.

From the engagements I had during the presentation, it was clear that more needs to be done in order to raise awareness about the program. I'm, therefore, making plans to host a geo-walk with the students in 2018 to map missing places around the campus and also conduct many more sensitization drives.

Merry Christmas and a prosperous 2018.

Talking about the Local guide programTalking about the Local guide program#LGSummit branded Google Cardboard#LGSummit branded Google Cardboard