YanniY's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

Re: Introduce Yourself - March 2017

@JustinDonnelly, from one foodie to another, welcome to local guides connect community!

Level 8

Level 8

Hello Everyone!IMG_20160810_161720.jpg

My name is Sarah Seitz, and I've decided to join the Local Guides community because I'm a map addict. Before we had Google Maps and MapQuest, I wore through the covers of at least three atlases. I currently work as a Remote Sites Analyst and Sustainable Design Consultant at NASA-Ames Research Center at Moffett Field, CA. When I'm not on the road for work, I live in Kingston, Ontario where I'm completing my PhD at Queen's University in Civil Engineering with a Specialty in Sustainable Engineering for Remote Areas. Before that, I spent several years working as a carpenter and whitewater river guide, traveling around Canada and the Western United States with a Subaru full of tools and camping equipment. 

Being a Local Guide feels pretty natural, because I've found myself preparing maps for friends and colleagues, using Share Location features and previously, Google My Maps. I've lived in lots of places, and I like being able to offer good advice to my friends about the places I've enjoyed most. For the last few years I have been trying new tools to share information about places that are beyond the reach of most maps. I also enjoy the sharing the photos I've taken of interesting architecture, unexpected details and wide open spaces. IMG_20160809_224402.jpg

I heard about Local Guides because I use Google Now to manage frequent travel, and received a prompt to share information about the places I had visited and starred in Google Maps. As well, I will be traveling to Spain and other parts of Europe this spring for the first time in 15 years, and will need some advice from knowledgeable people.