SouvickP's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 9

Re: Posting photos as local guide ends storage quota

Hi,

While I do know that the space issue is a rather touchy subject, I feel that responses from Google associated people

could be just a tad more empathetic at times.  While I can easily afford top of the line DSLR's, Pixel phones, & buying

even buying space, many people are not in the top few percent in the US.  Even though I really enjoy Google's many

features, many things are not really user friendly, and I find it a hassle to always worry about my space, since it could

effect my vital Gmail.  Of course no one forces me to use Gmail, but I have been a loyal user for at least a decade,

and find that over time, things change.  I am by no means an expert, but I still remember using punchcards to program

in FORTRAN and using the PDP1170 for advance brain research....and using BASIC.  How we have progressed.

We paid $20,000 for a 20 Megabyte hard drive back then and ironically "Space" is still an issue.  While I do wish

that Google would somehow not essentially disable Gmail if you exceed 15 Gb by contributing to GMaps, I can

seen the marketing logic.  Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I periodically have to go to the settings & reselect

high quality to compress pics that should be compressed by default.  It seem clunky & confusing to even me.

I even bought a Pixel phone so as to try to be less inhibited by space issues, while doing GMap pics.  Even then

I still have to reselect High Quality to re-compress the uncompressed pics that I contribute....they may be from

my iPhone or my DSLR, but I do not want them to go to my drive to eat space....but every time I check how

my Drive space is being used, somehow there are uncompressed pics eating space.  I have kept the High Quality

setting for at least several months at all times, but somehow this problem persists....so all global statements