cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

Connecting Classrooms around the Globe with #EdPins and #LocalGuidesLearn

Material Design 2  (1).png

Greetings Local Guides!

My name is Dale Plotzki and I am a Level 7 guide from Lima, Peru. I love participating in our community to document Lima’s incredible food scene, and as a way to share knowledge about local surf spots. But recently, I’ve been dreaming of new ways we can leverage this amazing group of people and technology to do more good for our world. You see, I am a teacher, and I want to combine my passion for Local Guides with my love of education to make an impact in the way we share and talk about learning in schools around the globe. Our time at school is one of the most important common threads we have to pull on to progress as a global society. Sharing learning that happens in schools matters! And I believe that Local Guides and Google Maps are the dream-team for making this happen!

Have you ever looked at the reviews of either your or your child’s school on Google Maps? Odds are that what you saw is probably not the most helpful. Unfortunately, reviews of schools in particular tend to be a fairly negative and unhelpful use of this powerful tool. So I started a Google Innovator project called #EdPins to address this issue. #EdPins seeks to promote positive, informative and objective stories about the learning that happens inside classrooms around the globe using Google Maps! The process is simple; all you need to do is go to either your child’s school or a school you attended and leave a review. But instead of offering your opinion, tell us about specific pieces of learning that happened there! Examples of what you can talk about include:

• What are some of the best projects/performances/activities you remember doing or seeing at this school (photo and video evidence would be AWESOME!)