crissibeth's post
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 8

6 tips for taking even better photos with your phone

I’m a NYC-based photographer and Local Guide who was lucky enough to be invited to share my expertise with attendees on a panel during Connect Live 2018.

Last week, I posted about my top takeaways from the event. Now, I want to share some of my best mobile photography tips with all of you who I didn’t get a chance to attend. I hope they’ll inspire you to get creative and take some amazing shots.

1. Stand in front of interesting subjects

National Geographic’s Jim Richardson said it best: “If you want to be a better photographer, stand in front of more interesting stuff.”  Some shots are all about location, location, location. Do your research ahead of time so you know where you want to go and how to get there.  I follow inspirational accounts on Instagram and conduct Google image searches before going to a new place. Then, I make a list of spots I want to go to.

Caption: A photo of the Golden Gate bridge in San Francisco, where Connect Live 2018 took place.Caption: A photo of the Golden Gate bridge in San Francisco, where Connect Live 2018 took place. 2. Turn on your grid lines

Your gridlines will help you compose a great, symmetrical shot. Turn them on in your camera settings. In a landscape shot in particular, the rule of thirds often comes into play with the horizon.  Generally speaking, the shot will look the best if you do not place the horizon line right in the middle of a shot, but rather at the bottom third of the frame. Turn on your camera’s grid lines (3x3) and you will be able to see exactly where that is.  As an added benefit, the grid lines will help you keep the horizon line straight.