Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 5

Re: 3 Tips for Creating a Great Summit Application Video

Great guidance.

@AshleyB wrote:

YTC_channel.png

Hello Local Guides,

My name is Ashley and I’m a Community Manager at YouTube. Some of you may remember me from the Local Guides Summit last year in San Francisco. 🙂

Local Guides Summit 2017 applications will are now open and some of you may be a little nervous about the 1-minute video submission. I wanted to share a few simple tips from the YouTube Creator Academy, to keep in mind when creating your video.

Tip 1: Lighting

Good lighting keeps viewers engaged with your video. Soft, even lighting will help your camera’s image sensor maintain detail in the brightest and darkest parts of the image. Ask any top creator, the best light is always natural light. Here are a few tips to consider for great lighting:

• To achieve soft and even lighting, try shooting on a cloudy day. This can result in a good-looking, detailed image.
  • On sunny days, try shooting in the shade to avoid bright sun and dark shadows.
  • When filming at home, you can capture natural light by setting your camera up near a window.

Tip 2: Sound

It’s important that audiences can watch your video and understand what you’re saying. Here’s a list of things you can do to help record great sound when shooting with your phone.

• Try staying as close to the microphone as you can.
  • Think through your shooting locations so that you can enter or move around within a shot without creating extra noise, which can be distracting. Don’t forget that even small background noises can have a major effect on your end result.
  • Consider using an external microphone to improve your sound quality when filming in a loud environment.

Tip 3: Filming on Mobile